top of page

Eyenetic Interviews Karl Heilbron


Eyenetic Anthony O'c interviews Lisa's in home Producer/Sound Engineer, Karl Heilbron.

"Recently I have been connecting with music engineer Karl Heilbron, for those who don’t know he worked with the forever loved and missed Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes on her solo projects including Supernova and the planned N.I.N.A project as well as work on TLC’s 3D album. Karl as I understand was very close to Lisa and worked much of the time out of her then newly established studio at her home in Stone Mountain, GA. Karl has also worked with artists such as Tupac Shakur, Jay-Z and Kanye West just to name a few. I am thrilled to be able to share this Q&A which Karl was so kind to answer and let me share. It includes allot of new information that’s for sure so please give it a read as it is very interesting to hear what Karl had to say based on his experiences:

Q. What was Lisa like about the whole Supernova project and did it turn out how she intended?

A. There was a bit of conflict between her and the label (Laface/RCA). She wanted to do something unexpected. Something different. The label didn’t want that.

Q. Where there any cool original ideas surrounding the album?

A. There was talk of getting a lot of features. Christina Aguilera, Pink. Only had a few that made it on the record. We recorded enough material to release a few albums.

Q. Generally what was Lisa like during her last years as of course she was very deep into the spiritual side of things?

A. She was very spiritual. She had been talking parts of her team to Sebi and was planning on all of us going. Honestly, the fasting and sleeping in a hut wasn’t really my thing.

Q. What was Pac and Lisa’s relationship like if you know cause I understand they were very close?

A. As far as I knew they kinda had a relationship at some point. She always spoke fondly of Pac. I met his mom Afini. She was a really great lady and super nice.

Q. How did Lisa go about making a song?

A. Mostly she had her producers write tracks and send them to her. She did ask specifically for some songs to be writen. Thats how “A star is born” came to be. I did the track one late night at UNI (her private studio in Stone Mountain, Ga.). Sent her the track in NY. She loved it and wrote to it. When she came back we recorded it a few times over a couple of weeks. I mixed it a few months later at Southern Tracks, Atl.

Q. Do you know about the N I.N.A project and if so how much was done and what were Lisa’s reasons for joining up with Tha Row?

A. Yes, the NINA project was totally different. Really, Death Row let her do what she wanted. That record was completed too. I always thought that someone from DR would release it but it never happened. I met Suge a few times. Thats one intimidating fella.

Q. What was Lisa like in person and what was her outlook on life?

A. Lisa was really cool. Laid back person. She was in recovery so no alcohol was involved. She was really candid and talked about all kinds of things. When I started working with her, I had just seen the Behind the music special on TLC and didn’t know what to expect. She was kind and caring and really awesome.

Q. Did she mention anything regarding the orginal TLC 3D project?

A. She did. Her and the band where not doing all that great back then. So it was touch and go. I was able to record a few songs that made it on the record. She wasn’t sure if she even wanted to be involved in TLC anymore. But was looking forward to working with the girls again. Artists do that a lot. Flip flop.

Q. What was Pac like as a person? Any interesting information regarding him that not many know about?

A. Pac was very cool. I only did one session with him at Keith Sweats atlanta studio. We recorded vocals for “Pain”, on the above the rim soundtrack. He came in one late night ready to work. He was just out of jail a few days so he was super happy to be out. Its one of the sessions I get asked about more than any other. I am blessed to have been able to work with a few artists I really admire. He is one. (Jay Z and Kanye are another two).

Hope this is what you wanted Anthony. If you have anything else, let me know. Sorry it took so long, been really busy but I always take time to answer questions about Lisa. I miss her a lot and she really made an impact on me and my life. RIP!"

via Cyber TLC World

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page