top of page

Remembering Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes (2002)

"How tragic it is that the world has lost yet another incredibly talented artist (see "Thousands Gather To Say Good-Bye To Left Eye"). Lisa Lopes was the embodiment of the term "free spirited," yet she seemed to be completely grounded in reality. Her presence in and impact on the music world will be both missed and celebrated for years to come. She herself left us with the perfect parting note in the TLC hit "Waterfalls," one which seems to perfectly define the stage in her life at which she stood: "Just believe in yourself; the rest is up to me and you."

- Mikhail, 24

Rockford, IL


"When I heard that Left Eye died, it seemed that we lost our friend. My heart was broken because I looked up to her so much. The rest of my heart goes to the rest of the TLC girls and Lisa's friends and family and fans. T-Boz and Chilli, keep your heads up; we can't lose you girls. Lisa will always be in my heart and my mind. May her body rest in peace. She is everywhere to me."

- Bernice, 15

Bellows Falls, VT


"TLC, you didn't lose your friend and sister. She will always be with all of us, and we will meet up again. We all love Lisa. She was a role model. She was the sister who always had our backs. I'm a fan and I miss her, but she's an angel in the sky laughing with us, still the same person that we loved."

- Sherineciya, 15

Texarkana, TX


"Lisa Lopes was seen as crazy and reckless, but I think a lot of people didn't realize what a talented and loving girl this was. I am saddened by her death. I would like to send my thoughts and prayers to her family and group members."

- Sarah, 18

Des Moines, IA


"I will always get a teary eye thinking of Left Eye. Just knowing that she is gone hurts real bad. I feel heartbroken that the one who always boosted my self-esteem through her actions and her music has passed away. Left Eye, you will always be remembered."

- Salote, 19

West Valley City, UT


"The saddest part about Left Eye's death is that everyone is focusing on all the negative things. We lost an intelligent artist who showed that she had a lot of talent and potential. She was not afraid to take risks. We need look back on her life and all the things that she could have done if she was still here. She will be truly missed not for her negativity, but for her talent that no one else could ever replace. Lisa Lopes is an angel smiling down upon us."

- Mieka, 20

Baltimore, MD


My heart is truly broken over the death of Left Eye. I had a very hard childhood and whenever I felt lonely or hurt, I would bump TLC and they would always make me feel better. I loved Lisa for her strength and compassion. This world will be a different place without her. I just hope she knows up in heaven what an impact she had on many people's lives on earth. Misty, 19 Winchester, KY


I am in such shock that I cannot even cry (see "Lisa 'Left Eye' Lopes Killed In Car Accident"). It is just so unbelievable. Lisa has done so much, and she has helped pave the way for women to speak out, be heard and be respected. She added that definite flavor to TLC, she was the sweet, unexpected surprise in 'NSYNC's "Space Cowboy" and the mastermind behind Blaque. Who knows what else she had in store for us? She was so unpredictable and I think that is why we loved her. Lisa was the one that you wished you could be best friends with, the one you wish you could clown with. It hurts me to know that the music industry has lost two talented, beautiful women in less than a year's time. Thanks for everything Lisa, we will miss you dearly. Tiana, 22 Mobile, AL


This is truly a tragic day in the music world, losing another beautiful young talent. For all her crazy ways, Left Eye will be sorely missed. Dru, 25 Haines City, FL


TLC has become one of my favorite musical groups. How can they possibly carry on without Left Eye? Many in this world will mourn not only Lisa Lopes, but the death of TLC as a group. I hope that T-Boz & Chilli can carry on in their musical careers with the memory of Lisa. My prayers are with the girls and Lisa's family. Brandy, 21 Nowata, OK


I just want to pay my respects to the people Left Eye left behind. She died far too young. I hope TLC will want to make music after this. They are a great group. Bente, 27 Bergen, Norway


Once again another terrible tragedy in which a gifted performer has been taken away from us in her prime. I would like to send my condolences to all of her family, friends, and the fans who all mourn her loss today. Reggie, 24 Flint, MI


I just heard the news of the sudden tragic death of Lisa Lopes. I feel a great loss and a great deal of compassion for her family, friends and fans. I had a chance to meet Lisa years ago at a local mall in Atlanta before TLC shot up the charts. The encounter was one to remember. I feel as if I know TLC personally and have supported them in all their endeavors. My heart is deeply saddened and my prayers are with you all. Dexter, 29 Atlanta, GA


I am really moved and hurt by this loss. Lisa Lopes was a wonderful energy and a great influence on me. This is a very sad day in the music world. Lisa, you will be missed greatly, but your voice will continue to be heard. Thank you for being the wonderful inspiration you will surely remain. Robyn, 15 Frostburg, MD


I am truly shocked by this story. I don't idolize many, but TLC are so much more than idols. They were real people, the image I wanted to be. Left Eye was special to me because she was a Gemini too and went through so much in her life. They never came to the Netherlands, and now not only is Lisa gone, but TLC as a whole. My heart is truly broken. I truly loved Lisa and now that she's gone a little of myself has died with her. Rest in peace Miss Lisa. Kay, 18 Amsterdam, The Netherlands


First and foremost, I would like to give Lisa Lopes' family and friends my deepest sympathy. Here is another life cut too short by tragic circumstances way before her light began to really shine. Rebecca, 36 New York, NY


I cried so hard when I heard about Lisa's death. It is almost impossible to believe. First Aaliyah and now her. My heart goes out to her family, TLC, and everyone who was close to her. She will really be missed. God Bless you girl! A, 31 San Francisco, CA


After I heard about the death of Left Eye I sat down and listened to all my TLC albums and just reflected on what a role that she played in changing R&B; music. Your memory will always remain in my heart, Lisa. One love. Sheree, 20 Tuscaloosa, AL


I was so shocked to find out about the death of Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes. I couldn't believe it. She will always be in the hearts of her fans, she'll always be that crazy girl from TLC that made that smooth hip-hop. My thoughts and prayers go out to T-Boz, Chilli and Lisa's family. Carmen, 17 Indiana, IN


Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes was her own woman. She stayed true to herself whatever the circumstances. She did her thing and she will truly be missed. V.L., 41 Atlanta, GA


I can't believe Lisa is gone. I didn't always understand why she made the decisions she did, but she was still undoubtedly the most important part of TLC. Chilli, T-Boz, and Lisa's family have my thoughts and condolences. Sara, 16 Lebanon, IN


This is a terrible loss for the entertainment industry and strong sisters across America. My heart goes out to Lisa's family and collaborators. She truly will be missed. Claudette, 33 Virginia Beach, VA

The loss of Left Eye is terrible. She blessed the world with her spunk and laughter. Although I did not know her personally, the music and the influence that she had on her generation will be missed. A prayer goes out to her biological and spiritual family. Rest in peace. Sonya, 23 Virginia Beach, VA


It seems like we always lose the best and most talented people. Lisa Lopes, you'll surely be missed by millions. Lauren, 20 Union Beach, NJ


I woke up this morning, saw the news and felt a pit at the bottom of my stomach. I could not believe that Lisa Lopes was dead. Even though she had a reputation, she was a great artist that always had us wondering what she was going to do next. She was completely down to earth and showed me to live life to the fullest. I will truly miss not being able to see what she could've done in the future because she had quite a life ahead of her. Amanda, 17 Elgin, IL


I am so shocked and sad to hear that Lisa Lopes passed away. I practically grew up with TLC. Left Eye did so much work with other artists and made the best songs. I can't believe that she and Aaliyah are gone. They were good influences in the music business. Kim, 16 Las Vegas, NV


I am deeply saddened to hear more sad news about somebody very special to me. Left Eye was the most fun and about it one to me. She seemed like a best friend you can chill with. I woke up shaking hearing this news, and I am still rattled while I'm typing this. Left Eye's family is in my thoughts and prayers. T-Boz and Chilli, keep your heads up. Ballahmoni, 14 Providence, RI


I'm still not over my girl Aaliyah. This is crazy. And they were both out of the country. What is going on? Monique, 20 Newport News, VA


It's always sad when a musician dies because their music became a part of everyone who listened to it. I myself have grown up on TLC, and to hear this news today is shocking. Although she had a dramatic life, Left Eye continuously stood up for what she believed in--music. On this sad day I mourn her, and I thank her for giving us her words and her creativity. Daniel, 20 Toronto, ON

Comments


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page