top of page

Left Eye on Tupac


Unknown Source, unknown date How did you first meet Tupac? Left Eye: Very strange way we met, I was watching a television program, I believe it was back in 1991 it was December and he was ragging on about Arsenio Hall, he captured my full attention and I wanted to meet him very bad, so less than a week from that day an artist that I knew came to my house, um, he use to airbrush and he airbrushed a picture of me on a t-shirt and he was down at the AU Center in Atlanta, Georgia selling the t-shirt and Tupac was standing across the street from him so Tupac walked over to him and said do you know that girl, you know I was on the picture with the big green hat on, you know this is when ain't to proud to beg came out, so the artist said as a matter of fact I do know her, and so Tupac gave the artist his phone number to give to me so then the artist came to my house and said you'll never guess who I ran into, I said who, Tupac he saw your shirt and wanted to know if I knew you blah, blah, blah, I was like, wow amazing, I just wanted to meet him you know so, um, we met over the phone and that's basically... We just had a long distance relationship, we talked alot you know he was in California at the time and I was living in Atlanta. How often did you guys hang out? Left Eye: Not very often at all, I mean, three times, I don't even consider that hanging out hanging out. What are some of your favorite Tupac songs? Left Eye: Uh, let's see, "I Wonder If Heaven Got A Ghetto," uh oh, goodness it's so many of them, some of the earlier ones are the ones I love the most, yeah, "Keep Ya Head Up," that's the one I wanted to redo when Afeni was working on a project where different artist were gonna redo some of his songs, "Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z..." I love that one, uh, I like "I Ain't Mad At Cha," All Eyez... No, that's not the name of a song is it? Yeah, yeah, that's the first song on that CD, All Eyez On Me, what's the name of where he says um, "I know you see me, can you feel me?" "Picture Me Rollin'" those are mine, it's endless! There was talk that there was a 10 year plan or a 5 year plan tell us how it came about. Left Eye: Well, let's see, okay, shortly after Tupac and I met he inspired me to paint a pic of him so I painted it with oil, oil paint and on the back of the picture I cant even remember what it said I know I started it let's play a game the game was I was to list ten goals that I wish to have had accomplished in 10 years and when he got the picture he was suppose to put it in a frame and ten years from that day we were suppose to crack the frame lift the pic on the back and for how many goals had come true is for how many millions of dollars we were gonna auction the pic for and give the money to a charity. When was the last time you spoke to or saw Tupac alive? Left Eye: The last time I saw him alive was about two months before he passed on, it was in California. What is your advice to all aspiring singers, actors, entertainers, young people out there who want to go into the entertainment industry? What advice would you have for them? Left Eye: [Laughs] Wow, okay, okay... How can I make this simple, my advice to all singers, entertainers, aspiring entertainers, who want to get into the business is, uh... Life is what you make it, it's really that simple I mean if that's what you truly desire and what you truly put your heart into then it should manifest for you as long as you are not distracted and don't miss those opportunities, um, from all the everyday distractions that we encounter, um, I don't know it's... It's really about... Um, I don't know, um, you can cut it."

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page