top of page

Sister 2 Sister Magazine Tribute (Dr. Sebi Interview) (2002)




Catching up with Lisa's holistic healer, Dr. Sebi, was no easy task. He's quite a character. He says he's cured cancer, AIDS, Lupus and a multitude of other illnesses. All those I've spoken to who have visited his Usha Village in Honduras, where Lisa loved to go, loved it In fact, Ida Harris, of LeftEye Productions, also told me that once, when there was hurricane and no planes were flying out to Honduras, Lisa insisted on going anyway and wanted to hire a private plane just to get there! Even though Dr. Sebi knows that it's ridiculous, he told me he somehow feels responsible for Lisa's death because Lisa was down in Honduras continuing his work, which is what she was doing -teaching others how to live and eat healthy, to be stress free, to submerge yourself in his "take the hot thermal volcanic water baths and say Ahhh!"


Jamie: What did you cure LeftEye of?


Dr. Sebi: She was very stressed. She only had nerve problems; very bad nerves like most of us. She went to Honduras, she had a thermal bath, which is the greatest therapeutical healing agent there has ever been. Those are volcanic waters that come out of the ground at 200 degrees Fahrenheit. I have constructed the Center with five bathhouses. The water is directed to the bathtub and you immerse your body in them. 1 built four big tanks. Two of them I fill and Im let that water cool down to the temperature of cold. The other two remain hot. I unite them down at a juncture just like you do in your bathtub. You open the hot one slightly, and then you open the cold to mix them to the desired temperature. That's what I'm talking about. Those waters are the greatest healing agents there ever been, quicker than there's ever been because they have a pH of 8.9, meaning they have highest obtainable hydrogen ion concentration and they're going to penetrate the skin and enter the body and begin to do the healing immediately. And then they address the central nerve system. When you emerge your body in the water, this is what you do [taking a deep breath]. You feel that you have relieved yourself of 100 years of stress. The other [thing] is that these waters contain sulfur. Sulfur as you know is one of the greatest healing agents for the lungs. So when you put someone in a sauna and the vapor is from volcanic activity, I don't care how long you may have had the lung cancer [or any illness], it will be healed. I have had people come from Norway with breast cancer, lung cancer, brain tumors--they all come out.


Jamie: I want to know how you found those volcanic baths with the volcanic waters.


Dr. Sebi: Because I helped a man with his mother and the man said to me, "You know no one helped my mother the way you have helped her with her disease state. I'm going to make a present to you. I'm going to sell you a piece of property that has hot water on it and I'm only gonna charge you $10,000 for the land because this is like a gift to you." So you see when you do good....I always remember Spike Lee, "Do the right thing.'


Jamie: You've been in jail before, Dr. Sebi?


Dr. Sebi: Of course. I was put in jail because I claimed to cure AIDS and other diseases in New York in 1985. The Attorney General put the consumer affairs [authorities] on me. When I went to his office he asked me, "Are you responsible for this ad?" I said yes. [He said,] "Well, I want you to remove this ad because this ad reads that AIDS has been cured. Many people have made claim and have yet to live up to their claim." I said I agree with you, but are you saying that I am one of those people, that I am making claim and not complying? Are you saying that I fit that category? He said, "I want you to remove the ad!" I said, "Sir, the only person in the universe that can tell me to do something and I will do it without even questioning it happens to be my mama. And you happen not to be my mother. And since you are not giving me reason why I should remove this ad, I'll see you later." and I walked out of his office. One month later I was charged with practicing medicine without a license, selling products not approved by the FDA and claiming to cure AIDS and other diseases which is a fraudulent claim. I was in jail for one week. And the judge said let him out on his own recognizance. We want to hear what this man has to say. I went to court. The judge said I had to bring a witness of every disease I claimed to cure and there were nine of them: AIDS, diabetes, impotence. leukemia, maiscenia gravis (degeneration of the cells of the brain), blindness, and others. So I went to court. I took 77 people to the Supreme Court and I won my case.


Jamie: What were you giving Lisa to eat?


Dr. Sebi: Lisa used to prepare me sea moss in the morning. It's a beverage that strengthens the bones. I'm 69 years old, I don't have any pain anywhere in my body. I run swim, I have sex every night, I do everything 1 want to do now as a young boy-better now than before.


Jamie: Where do you get sea moss?


Dr. Sebi: I get it from the ocean from Honduras. We have it as a powder. I can send you some. All you have to do is take a teaspoon, put it in a blender, then you put this hot water on it, you blend it up, then you put some maple syrup as a sweetener, some vanilla, cinnamon and a little half teaspoon of sesame butter, and that's going to add as a natural milk, and you not gonna eat anything else for the rest of your life! When you have a mug of that, girl, you're gone!


Jamie: Lisa spent $44,000 bringing everybody down there?


Dr. Sebi: She brought camera, video people to shoot a whole production of my place because I have the prettiest holistic village in the world


Jamie: How much does it cost to go to your village for a week? 


Dr. Sebi: $750 a week. Everything you need will be given to you


Jamie: But you're not there most of the time?


Dr. Sebi: No. I don't have to be there. My other wife is there right now, Maa


Jamie: Tell me about Suge Knight. Did Lisa bring him down?


Dr. Sebi: Lisa knew that Suge was having problems with his ankle and she didn't care what the public said about Suge Knight. She had to heal everyone that needed healing. She took a salve that I made named the Eva Salve.I made that salve for a young lady in Washington, DC, who was paralyzed for 28 years and she's walking now. She graduated, married, and she's a lawyer. So I named the salve after Eva. Lisa took the salve to Suge when he was in jail and rubbed his ankles and Suge became interested in me. And the three of us said that we're going to Africa. We gonna heal AIDS in Africa. We gonna build a holistic village in Africa. And Lisa passed


Jamie: Did she ever bring Suge down there?


Dr. Sebi: I don't think so. No.


Jamie: Did you ever meet him?


Dr. Sebi: Of course I know Suge. Lisa introduced me to Suge Knight and Suge and I were together the night before I went to the funeral in Atlanta, Georgia


Jamie: And you said you felt bad because she was down there..


Dr. Sebi: ...she was down there doing work for me. Not for me but for healing.


Jamie: I wanted to clear something up. People said to me that the authorities came after you about molesting your child


Dr. Sebi: Oh yeah, they sure did. They had me in jail. I said, d@#n! Before I got to Honduras I was in Miami.


Jamie: Before you went there to live?


Dr. Sebi: Yeah. I called my son Asami. I said to Asami, do me a favor. Do not bring Saama to the village. I love my daughter and I will give my life for her. Do not bring Saama to the village because I do not want any problems with Fannie [Asaama's mother]. I don't want her on my property. When I got to the village that Wednesday night, who do I meet at the village in Asami's arm? Saama. My heart dropped because I knew something was up because I told the boy, do not bring my little girl there, and he brought her anyway. Wednesday night Saama slept with me and Matun; Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Saturday, Fannie gets outside my door screaming for her daughter. I said see, what I didn't want is happening On Saturday she came, took Saama with her. And Monday I was going to the stable with Matun and I was arrested for molesting my little girl.


Jamie: Was the little girl brought to court at all?


Dr. Sebi: Fannie had the authorities in the little village where she comes from paid off attorneys and judges - including the Catholic Church - Murelli and her sister Carla, and another one named Marilyn. Fannie had these three people to collaborate the story.


Jamie: And that was before this happened with Fannie?


Dr. Sebi: Right. And one day I called Carla [Fannie's sister]. I said Carla, how could you tell authorities that I raped Asaama? [She said] "Well she told me so!" I said, "Saama told you so?" I said, "Well how is it that when they came to pick up Saama on Saturday and she was playing with the other children, you think that if I had raped my daughter that she would be able to play with the other children without suffering some kind of pain?" Carla said, "Well I don't

care what you say, Saama told me!"


Jamie: Did they bring the baby into the courthouse at all?


Dr. Sebi: Why do you think I'm here talking to you? And why do you think I'm outta jail? In fact, I'm going back to court because my lawyer called me last week and said, "Sebi, I think you better come because we gonna have to put Fannie in jail because she gave a testimony on TV, radio and newspaper that you raped Sama and that is an offense against the States. That's defamation of character."


Jamie: Okay, now Fannie held a gun to your head because she was mad because you wouldn't get rid of your two wives, Maa and Matun. But you were shot in New Orleans?


Dr. Sebi: Long before then.


Jamie: And you were with whom?


Dr. Sebi: I had just left my wife, Melba


Jamie: How old were you when you married her?


Dr. Sebi: I was only 24. She left me for another man, which is cool. That's why the child [Asami] wasn't mine.


Jamie: But why did she shoot you?


Dr. Sebi: It wasn't Melba that shot me. It was another woman.


Jamie: Why did she shoot you?


Dr. Sebi: She had to because she wanted me to stay with her and I wouldn't.


Jamie: Where did the bullet enter your body?


Dr. Sebi: On the right side, I still have the scar there.


Jamie: Did you feel, in any Lisa was going to die?


Dr. Sebi: No! I didn't.


Jamie: What did you think when you heard about that? Where were you?


Dr. Sebi: I was in Los Angeles. My wife called me and said Lisa just passed five minutes ago.


Jamie: So Lisa had a lot of pain. You said she was under a lot of stress, but a lot of people hurt her in her life.


Dr. Sebi: Let me tell you something: nobody hurt Lisa. Lisa was emotional. Lisa's a Gemini. She didn't feel hurt. Lisa loved Andre even though she burned his house down. They were together

after that and they were going to get married, so what's the deal there? Haven't you gotten

angry with your lover sometimes and he's angry at you and it's always about something very stupid? That goes on with all of us.


Jamie: Did Lisa bring Andre Rison down there?


Dr. Sebi: Of course! Andre was down there many times


Jamie: So you said Lisa never got hurt?


Dr. Sebi: Nooo! She was full of love. That's all she had to offer. That's all she offered me. That's all she offered everyone - love.


Jamie: How do you cure high cholesterol?


Dr. Sebi: How do I cure AIDS, how do I cure sickle cell anemia, how do I cure endometriosis, how do I cure all the diseases I've cured? I'm proud to say it. Uncompromisingly. I remove the one disease; the mucous membrane has been compromised. I remove mucous from the system.


Jamie: And Uncle Tony, Lisa's uncle, is down there? He moved down there and he just had a baby.


Dr. Sebi: He called the night before last. Uncle Tony is happy. We remember Lisa with happiness, not with sorrows and death. That was his girl and that was my friend and we love her and we`re gonna promote her!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page